LifeByTheBeach

A Change in Plans

Posted on: November 22, 2012

As I sat trying to figure out how to write an eloquent Thanksgiving blog, I decided to take a moment to scroll through my Facebook wall. Lo and behold, my dear friend and client, Marie Kowlessar, had posted something that I have decided to “borrow”. As I read it (and laughed) I wanted to share it with all those people who have made my life so joyful and full of fun.

Bridget and I are blessed to have wonderful families, friends and clients. We truly have fun every day and how many people can say that? And I know it isn’t fair because Bridget is down in the Keys doing God knows what (that will teach her to go away on vacation), but I do want to say how truly thankful I am to have found an amazing partner and friend. I can’t believe my good fortune! Thanks Bridget – you truly are the best!

And before I get to the good stuff (it is coming, I promise), a big, huge Thank You to our amazing Assistant and friend, Sage. You know how special you are and we couldn’t do it without you! In fact, if anyone reading this blog today wants to know where the cute little pictures are . . . let’s just say Sage is in the Keys too and leave it at that!

A Change in Plans by Barbara A. Tyler

     Martha Stewart will not be dining with us this Thanksgiving. I’m telling you in advance, so don’t act surprised. Since Ms. Stewart won’t be coming, I’ve made a few small changes: Our sidewalk will not be lined with homemade, paper bag luminaries. After a trial run, it was decided that no matter how cleverly done, rows of flaming lunch sacks do not have the desired welcoming effect.
     Once inside, our guests will note that the entry hall is not decorated with the swags of Indian corn and fall foliage I had planned to make. Instead, I’ve gotten the kids involved in the decorating by having them track in colorful autumn leaves from the front yard.  The mud was their idea.
     The dining table will not be covered with expensive linens, fancy china or crystal goblets. If possible, we will use dishes that match and everyone will get a fork. Since this IS Thanksgiving, we will refrain from using the plastic Peter Rabbit plate and the Santa napkins from last Christmas. …
     Our centerpiece will not be the tower of fresh fruit and flowers that I promised. Instead we will be displaying a hedgehog-like decoration that has been hand-crafted from the finest construction paper. The artist assures me it’s a turkey.
     We will be dining fashionably late. The children will entertain you while you wait. I’m sure they will be happy to share every choice comment I have made regarding Thanksgiving, pilgrims and the turkey hotline. Please remember that most of these comments were made at 5:00 a.m. upon discovering that the turkey was still hard enough to cut diamonds. As accompaniment to the children’s recital, I will play a recording of tribal drumming. If the children should mention that I don’t own a recording of tribal drumming or that the tribal drumming sounds suspiciously like a frozen turkey in a clothes dryer, ignore them. They are lying.
     We toyed with the idea of ringing a dainty silver bell to announce the start of our feast. In the end, we chose to keep our traditional method. We’ve also decided against a formal seating arrangement. When the smoke alarm sounds, please gather around the table and sit where you like. In the spirit of harmony, we will ask the children to sit at a separate table. In a separate room. Next door.
     Now I know you have all seen pictures of one person carving a turkey in front of a crowd of appreciative onlookers. This will not be happening at our dinner. For safety reasons, the turkey will be carved in a private ceremony. I stress “private” meaning this: Do not, under any circumstances enter the kitchen to laugh at me. Do not send small, unsuspecting children to check on my progress. I have an electric knife. The turkey is unarmed. It stands to reason that I will eventually win. When I do, we will eat.
     I would like to take the opportunity to remind my young diners that “passing the rolls” is not a football play. Nor is it a request to bean your sister in the head with warm, tasty bread. Oh, and one reminder for the adults: For the duration of the meal, and especially while in the presence of young diners, we will refer to the giblet gravy by its lesser-known name: Cheese Sauce. If a young diner questions you regarding the origins or type of Cheese Sauce, plead ignorance. Cheese Sauce stains.
     Oh before I forget, there is one last change. Instead of offering a choice between 12 different scrumptious desserts, we will be serving the traditional pumpkin pie. Garnished with whipped cream and small fingerprints. You will have a choice. Take it or leave it.
     Martha Stewart will not be dining with us this Thanksgiving. Come to think of it, she probably won’t make it next year either.
     I am thankful!

We hope everyone has a wonderful, safe, healthy Thanksgiving Day!

Visit Our Website: www.CoastalEstateTeam.com

Contact Carolyn Smith at:

Phone: 321.271.0870

Email: CarolynSmithRealtor@gmail.com

Contact Bridget Sentz at:

Phone: 321.537.5720

Email: BridgetSentz@gmail.com

Start your dream home search right here: Coastal Estate Team Website

Whether you are buying or selling, it would be our pleasure to represent you!

Please call or email Your Coastal Estate Team to review your real estate needs!

1 Response to "A Change in Plans"

THAT was funny!! Happy jive turkey day to the Smith clan! ~Cindi

Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 103 other followers

Visit Our Website: www.CoastalEstateTeam.com

Email Us: info@CoastalEstateTeam.com

Your Coastal Estate Team: Carolyn Smith, Realtor & Bridget Sentz, Realtor

"Your Coastal Estate Team"

Contact Carolyn at:

RE/MAX Olympic Realty
445 Fifth Avenue
Indialantic, FL 32903

Direct: 321.271.0870
Fax: 321.574.3044

Email: CarolynSmithRealtor@gmail.com

Contact Bridget at:

RE/MAX Olympic Realty
445 Fifth Avenue
Indialantic, FL 32903

Cell: 321.537.5720
Office: 321.952.4000

Email: BridgetSentz@gmail.com

Click Here to Search the MLS

Melbourne Beach Surf Report

LifeByTheBeach Blog Archives

